The Meaning of Chicago's Flag.
The Municipal Flag of Chicago consists of 3 White stripes separated by two stripes of Blue with four Red six-pointed stars on the center stripe of White:

The 3 White stripes:

  • Top White Stripe represents the North side of the city.
  • Center White Stripe represents the West side of the city.
  • Bottom White Stripe represents the South side of the city.

The 2 Blue stripes:

  • Top Blue stripe represents Lake Michigan and the North Branch of the Chicago River.
  • Bottom Blue stripe represents the South Branch of the Chicago River and the Great Canal.

The 4 Red stars on the Center White Stripes represent something as well as each of the points on the stars themselves:

The First Red Star represents Fort Dearborn (added in 1939).
The Points of the First Red Star Signify:

  • France 1693
  • Great Britain 1763
  • Virginia 1778
  • Northwest Territory 1798
  • Indian Territory 1802
  • Illinois Statehood 1818

The Second Red Star represents the Chicago Fire of October 8-10, 1871.
The Points of the Second Red Star Signify:

  • transportation
  • labor
  • commerce
  • finance
  • populousness
  • salubrity

The Third Red Star represents the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893.
The Points of the Third Red Star Signify History of the Area:

  • religion
  • education
  • esthetics
  • justice
  • beneficence
  • civic pride

The Fourth Red Star represents the Century of Progress Exposition of 1933 (added in 1933).
The Points of the Fourth Red Star Signify:

  • World's Third Largest City
  • City's Latin Motto - “Urbs in Horto” meaning “City in a Garden"
  • I Will Motto
  • Great Central Market
  • Wonder City
  • Convention City


  Legal Notices
 © 2007-2024 All rights reserved. Website by